Born in 1981 in Breda, Jasper grew up in a musical family. His parents sang and played guitar and piano, among other things. From the age of 6 he received drum lessons at the local music school. Ten years later he was accepted at the Rotterdam conservatory where he was taught by, among others, Fred Krens, Peter Ypma and Hans van Oosterhout. During his studies, he gained a lot of playing experience during countless jam sessions and in bands with different musical styles. He started the band ‘The Young’ with fellow students Sinatra’s ’and he played in the jazz quartet of saxophonist Ad Colen, among others and with the Brazilian jazz group "Sensual". Today Jasper is the regular drummer in the band of singer-songwriter Wouter Hamel. After winning the jazz vocalist competition in 2005, he took 6 with him so far albums on. The album "Nobody’s Tune" got platinum status in 2010 for 60,000 albums sold in the Netherlands. Several single's became hits and the album was picked up by a Japanese label. Since then they play in theaters, clubs and at festivals in the Netherlands, Germany, Japan, China, South Korea and Indonesia. In 2006, trumpet player Eric Vloeimans formed his 'electric-impro' band Gatecrash. With this band has recorded 3 albums so far for Jasper. They won ao Edison and a Golden Nutcracker. In addition to many concerts in the Netherlands and Europe, they also toured in America, Asia and India. In 2016, Jasper recorded the CD "Black Ice" with the trio of pianist Wolfert Brederode the renowned ECM label, produced by the legendary Manfred Eicher. In addition, Jasper also plays in the bands of singers Tutu Puoane, Maria Mendes and Anne Chris, and among other things, he played with Bert van den Brink, Cor Bakker, Benjamin Herman, Ilja Reijngoud, Fay Claassen, Jesse van Ruller, Angelo Verploegen, Colin Benders (aka Kyteman), Wende Snijders, Gino Vannelli, Edsilia Rombley, Lydia van Dam, Teus Nobel, Peter Tiehuis, Karel Boehlee, and many others.

Concerts in 2019 of Jasper van Hulten